Beaumont sucks! 

Yes, I am still having to manage the structures in Beaumont, TX. Yes. I still hate it!

In fact I am in Beaumont today. Julie is flying in this weekend and I’ll be meeting her in Austin. I have several presentations on Monday and Tuesday and she has decided that we need a little time before her surgery makes life all about co-pays and treatments. 

I agree

It has been raining the past two days I’m Beaumont and the “chief” inspector here actually thinks that I report to him. In fact, he has requested a meeting with me to discuss my “frequent absences” from the site. 

Keep in mind; not only do I not report to or work for him, I don’t even work for the same company. In fact, my firm loses money every day I have to deal with that job because it was the first contract we were awarded and the lowest one that we bid. 

Here’s how I’m sure the meeting will go. 

Chief: “Lee, I need you to make more of an effort to be onsite every day. You are responsible for the structures and this is where your priority should be.”

Me: “That’s not going to happen. I have 14 inspectors and 11 projects outside of this one that require my attention. If you have an issue, call my lead.”

At which point he will huff and puff, call his boss who will call my boss who will then call me and say, “Play nice until I can pull the cord and get you out of there.”

How I wish the conversation would go. 

Chief: “Lee, I need you to make more of an effort to be onsite every day. You are responsible for the structures and this is where your priority should be.”

Me: “B, you’re an idiot that not only has zero clue what you are doing out here but you are incapable of seeing the bigger picture. You and you’re inbreeder mentality has grated on my last nerve for almost a year now and I’m done. Don’t talk to me, don’t call me, don’t try to communicate with me in any way. Stay the fuck away from me and let me do my job until I’m able to put this God foresaken town in my rear view mirror for good.”

Hey. A girl can dream….right? 

2 thoughts on “Beaumont sucks! 

Leave a Reply

