I LOVE my job! 

I talked to my boss about the situation with Julie. We discussed the fact that I’ll need to take time off here and there, and Tuesday he and I had a long conversation about how Julie and I have discussed her possibly coming with me on trips at times. She has to take medical leave and I don’t like the idea of her being alone for days at a time. 

He has always been supportive. Always been sympathetic and understanding. However, he wasn’t sure how the owners of our firm would react if they were forced to deal with the fact that my wife had cancer. 

Don’t get me wrong. The two owners are great guys but they are Texans and Texas is known for its conservative, bible thumping mentality. 

Well, I told my boss, “fuck it! Just tell them. If I lose my job, I’ll find another one but I’ll be damned if I’m going to hide my wife away like some dirty little secret.”

So, we braced for impact. Hoping for the best but expecting the worst. 

Today I got a call from Oscar, the owner. 

“Lee. I am sending you a link. There are three camp grounds that offer extended stays in the area of your job site in Texas. I need you to pick one out.”

I’m thinking we’ve hired an inspector that will be staying in a travel trailer. I also thought it weird that the owner and CEO was calling me instead of my boss. So I asked, “Oscar, is Chris out? I’m not used to you handling issues with the inspectors housing.”

“This isn’t for the inspectors. This is for you and your wife (he used the word wife! Not partner, not friend, but wife!). I bought a 33′ Forest River Surveyor travel trailer for the two of you to stay in when she comes on the road with you. She is going to need to be more comfortable and have more privacy than a hotel can accommodate. Pick a camp site out and I’ll have it delivered and set up next week!”

I told Julie and she cried. We have both been so worried that her treatments would cause me to fall from grace at work. Instead, they are willing to go above and beyond in order to make sure that I am able to care for my wife!

I think I’ve decided that I’m going to stay with this firm until I can no longer work!! 

One thought on “I LOVE my job! 

Leave a Reply

