We have hit that stage 

Talking to Julie the other night and I realized that we have hit the stage where she is no longer in denial. 

I’ve talked to some friends who have survived breast cancer and I’ve spoken to some who have been the primary support for those suffering it. They all say the same thing: she will withdraw. 

That’s pretty much the direction she’s heading. Friday I was at the store and she sent me a text. “I think this is probably something I need to do alone.”

I didn’t argue or ask questions. I simply responded, “that’s not going to happen so there’s no need to discuss this further.”

That was the last time we talked about it. 

I’m sure that there will be outbursts and anger that she will direct at me. That’s ok. My shoulders are broad enough to carry that weight. 

I’m sure there will be meltdowns and crying and that’s ok too. Lord knows I find myself crying in a random parking lot when the thought hits me. 

My beautiful wife may be stubborn but I’m even more so. 

She can push, she can yell, she can do whatever pops into her head, but she will have to get a restraining order if she thinks I’m going to walk away from her now. 

I don’t know what will happen. I don’t know if this time with her is all I have. I’ll be damned if I’m going to miss even a minute of it with her! Id rather have a little time to love and cherish her than to be so selfish that I walk away when she needs me most! 

Leave a Reply

