And there is C…again. 

In a previous post, I detailed how C sent me a lengthy private message and requested that I never contact her again. I also explained that she hasn’t removed me from her friends list on Facebook. 

Well, I have been busy with work and trying to make Easter travel plans with Julie. We are going to Louisiana to see James and Huey so we are getting plane tickets and hotel reservations in order. She is also dealing with her family because this is only the second Easter that she has been allowed to attend their family function and she’s choosing to spend it with me. 

Truthfully, I think it’s all a lot less dramatic than it seems. We are trying to “rotate” holidays so both sides get to see us. Except Christmas. I think our plan is to split that between both families, somehow. Anyways, I digress. 

Wednesday was Louie’s birthday. As I usually do, I posted a short status update on Facebook wishing her a happy birthday. She responded as did a lot of my friends and I went about my business. On Thursday I got a notification that C had “liked” the post. 

Ok. Whatever. I mentioned it in passing to Julie and she got pretty upset about it. “In her message to you she stated that you do not have unprecedented access to her or her family. You’ve never contacted her family but she feels it’s ok to make a gesture about yours? She batshit crazy!”

I didn’t take it that way, but I can see that Julie had been sensitive about this whole ordeal all along so I didn’t argue. To me, I saw it more as what it probably was; C is calming down and realized that her message to me was one sent in haste as a reaction to some perceived wrong doing. Or she is batshit crazy. Not sure which but it didn’t bother me. I was more amused by the “don’t ever contact me again, but I’m going to continue to participate in your life to an extent” attitude. 

Well, today I had to run some errands and finish up reports for work so I was out and about. I didn’t have my phone on me much today so I didn’t see the text from C until several hours after she had sent it. 

“The more I think about it the more I realize I wasn’t fair to you. I was an ass and I have to own that. Being a grown up sucks sometimes but I am sorry.”

Julie actually read the text before I did because she was at the house with my phone when it was received. 

She admitted that she wanted to respond but didn’t because she knew it would be her reacting to a situation that neither of us really want to be in. In essence, she would be giving C power again and that’s something we don’t really want. 

Well, as I said, I didn’t see the text for several hours. When I did get it, it had been followed up with several others. “I guess you aren’t going to talk to me? I suppose I deserve that.” And “the silent treatment isn’t like you. Lol”

I debated on if I should respond or not. I’m still pretty upset at her for the recent juvenile outbursts I’ve had to endure so I realize that I could very easily be baited into an ugly back and forth with her. Something I don’t want. On the flip side, she’s right; I don’t do the silent treatment. Even if I don’t want to engage, I always acknowledge a person. It’s a respect thing. 

“C, right now I don’t think it’s a good idea for us to have any contact with each other. You obviously have areas of your life that you need to focus on and so do I. If it seemed like I was ignoring your texts today, that wasn’t the case. Truthfully, I don’t think I could have a conversation with you without it turning hurtful and angry. I hope you understand.”

I haven’t heard back and don’t expect to unless it’s more aggression. I haven’t been on Facebook so I’m not sure if she has taken me off her friends list but that’s not really a concern of mine right now. 

As I have said in the past; I am beginning to wonder if she is suffering from a valid mental illness or if she is just a whacko! Only time will tell. 

Leave a Reply

