Boundaries! Hello!!

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am far from being a prude.

I can laugh at the dirtiest jokes, swear like a sailor on shore leave and even appreciate the occasional provocative photo.

However, when it comes to blatant vulgarity, I don’t really see the need for that.

Remember my friend C? Well, she called the other night.

I’m not exactly sure why she called, but the conversation left me feeling uncomfortable and my opinion of her dropped another notch.

Several of us had suspected that she was pursuing a relationship with a friend. While my opinion of that was one of skepticism, I believed (and still believe) that it’s none of my business. She is the only one who knows if she is truly ready to resume dating.

During our conversation, she asked how Julie and I spent Valentine’s Day, how work was going, etc. Then, things took a drastic turn.

She began telling me about this person that has been “pursuing” her. Explaining that she believes that she could develop deep feelings for this woman and she isn’t sure how she wants to proceed. I assumed she was asking for my opinion/advice so I told her that if it were me, I’d proceed with caution. Taking my time to nurture a relationship based on trust and respect so that if things didn’t pan out, they could maintain a friendship.

“But she’s an amazing fuck!”

Alrighty, then!!

C began detailing their sexual exploits. Positions, things said in the heat of the moment, different techniques the woman used to satisfy C’s desires…everything! And using graphic and crude details.

I sat there with what could only have been a look of disgust on my face. Thank goodness she wasn’t in the room with me.

At the end of her narrative, I simply said, “you’re a grown woman. You need to do what feels right to you.”

Her response, “I’m just fucking my way through this!”

At that, I excused myself from the conversation and hung up.

What two people do in the privacy of their home is none of my concern. However, I’ve never been one to go into any details about my sexual experience and really have no desire to hear about another’s. Especially in a vulgar and crude manner.

I’ve talked to Julie about our conversation and she was just as shocked as I was. That C would feel the need to speak to me that way is very uncharacteristic of her.

I don’t know if she’ll call again anytime soon or if she’ll feel the need to share any more details with me. What I do know is that if she does, I have no problem telling her I’d prefer not to hear about it.

Some images you just can’t “unthink”!

4 thoughts on “Boundaries! Hello!!

    • I’ve wondered that myself. I’m reluctant to dismiss a decade long friendship because she has been acting uncharacteristically since her partner died. I’ve tried to step back and separate myself from her because I believe that she is acting recklessly due to her grief. The reason I think this is true is because there are days when I see the old C that I know and trust. She’s intelligent, articulate and respectful. The C I know, wouldn’t divulge this type of information or do so in such a vulgar way. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

