I had to laugh at the irony

The gay/lesbian community is a small place.

When you are in a relationship with someone, her friends become your friends, your friends become hers, and you make new ones as a couple.

Outside of this blog, I’ve never been negative about my ex. I even went so far as to make a comment on Facebook once that I didn’t want our friends to feel they had to choose sides.

Well, tonight I was talking to one of our mutual acquaintances. I was talking about how I plan to fly from Clovis (where I’m at right now) straight home. I mentioned Julie by name. (Anyone who has read this blog long enough knows I give aliases to everyone. Obviously, Julie isn’t her real name)

Well, at that mentioning, our friend began to laugh.

I have to admit I was a bit offended. “What’s so amusing about me going home to spend some time with my wife?”

Well, it wasn’t that I was going home that she thought was funny. It’s the fact that apparently my ex has a partner and her partner has the same name as my beautiful wife!

That’s a little ironic because it’s not a common name.

So..here’s to my “Julie” and her “Julie”.

Leave a Reply

