Patience is a virtue

I was once asked, “what do you pray for?”

That’s a pretty personal question, but I trusted the person that asked so I answered.

“Mostly, I thank God for all the things I’m blessed with but I usually ask for patience. It’s not my strongest trait.”

When I said that, she gasped. I was informed that when you ask God for patience, he gives you obstacles that force you to learn to wait. A difficult job, a dry spell in your love life, whatever.

I thought it was funny that she thought that was the worst thing that could happen but I could also see what she was talking about.

When I was laid off work several years ago, I was close to losing my faith. I felt that God had abandoned me. Here I was, an educated, healthy, hard worker with a family to care for and months went by without a single offer.

Then I found my dream job. A firm I loved, work I loved, people I loved.

Then, life intervened. I had to choose between my family or my job. I chose my family.

While I bitched and moaned about it when my ex and I split, I look back now and realize that everything happens for a reason.

Sometimes it may take months or even years, but one day…you look back and see how all the decisions and choices you’ve made have landed you where you are.

Back to the patience part…

For a year now, I’ve been chomping at the bit. Trying to get myself in a position that I can move to Illinois and be with Julie. Always frustrated when some new opportunity seems just out of reach. Planning, plotting, promising. Always praying for patience.

That has paid off.

Tonight I got a call from my boss.

We won both contracts in Dallas and that officially puts us in the category of needing to expand our organizational chart.

“I’m promoting you again. You are now the new VP of construction services. That means you will be overseeing all the field projects and there will be a lot of travel.”

My response to this was simple. “How the hell is that good news?!”

His reply?

“You can officially live anywhere in the U.S. That you want! Your home will be your new base of operation!”

I may be traveling 3-4 days a week, but I will officially be HOME! Right now I’m home on weekends. Maybe 2 or 3 days tops. Now, with strategic planning, I can be home most nights!!

Needless to say..Julie and I are ecstatic!!

2 thoughts on “Patience is a virtue

  1. I found you years ago from your ex’s blog and I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your writing. You inspire a person to think more carefully about their own life. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

