Struggles. Good and bad

These past several weeks have been a whirlwind for Julie and I.

Work, school, family, kids. Everyone and everything seems to be making demands on our time and we feel like we are just going through the motions.

Last night, as we lay in bed, we began talking about all these things.

I decided to leave my old firm and take a chance on the one I’m at now. It was risky and scary. The promises they made me gave me hope but I also took them all with a grain of salt just in case things didn’t pan out.

When I accepted this position, I told my boss that I had plans to do more than just build bridges in Texas. Even at my age (a ripe 42) I intend to keep climbing until I’m able to compete in a much more competitive market.

This morning I got a text from him.

“Call me. CEI up for grabs”

I called him and was asked if I was serious about “moving our firm to the next level to compete with the big boys?”

Of course I am! I’m chomping at the bit and I’m not even through school yet.

He informed me that I’m listed as the Senior Environmental and Structural Compliance Officer for a project he submitted a bid on in Chicago.

3.5 million for our chunk of the contract.

So, I am now running this show. Prepping for the Q/A that the DOT will be throwing at us. Shopping online for the perfect suit so I look like I’m supposed to be in that room and feeling both excitement and terror.

I’m not sure how it will turn out, but Julie has faith in me so how could I fail??

Leave a Reply

