Still helpless

It’s been several days since my visit with my friend.

I’ve tried to call her once and I’ve texted her every day (with the exception of yesterday) to tell her I hope she is feeling better.

I landed in Chicago a few hours ago and Julie suggested I reach out to her again. Instead of giving her a “pep talk” remind her that I’m here for her and tell her that I feel like I’ve hurt her in some way.

At first I was reluctant. The last thing C (we will call her that instead of “my friend”) needs is for someone else to make demands on her, emotionally.

However, Julie is brilliant and has a way of reaching people.

I sent C a text this morning.

“I’m not sure what I did or said to cause you to feel you need to shut me out, but I’m sure you have your reasons. I just want you to know that you are on my mind and I’m always going to be here for you.”

That was about 6 hours ago and I haven’t heard back.

She’s been posting pictures of her deceased partner on FB these past several days. I spoke to a mutual friend who is afraid that C is about to hit a wall.

I’m not sure what to do but for now, I will wait. I will let my friend have her space and time and hopefully she will know that I am here if she needs a broad set of shoulders.

2 thoughts on “Still helpless

    • Thats what im doing. I have no clue what shes going through or why she feels she needs to pull away from me. But, as her friend, i owe it to her to allow her the time and space to sort through her feelings.

Leave a Reply

