Detox, baby!

Yes, I am going to do a full blown detox.

Why, you ask?

Well, I quit smoking using the help of nicotine gum and lozenges. Unfortunately, that cured my desire for cigarettes, it did not cure my cravings for nicotine.

My friend J Will has been a non smoker for over a year now! Yay to her!! Unfortunately, she is now addicted to the patch.

These little aids that help us break the nasty habit of smoking do nothing to eliminate our brains need for that constant, steady stream of stimulating nicotine.

I’ve tried to ween myself to no avail. Instead of chewing 4 pieces of 4 mg gum, I chew 8 pieces of 2 mg. instead of forcing myself to wait until I get home when I run out of my cessation aids, my first instinct is to stop at the store and grab a pack of smokes.

So, today I decided that it’s time I flush this stuff from my body and go cold turkey.

I’ve decided to wait until Monday. The last thing I want is to lash out at Julie because my addicted brain is in full on bitch mode. Plus, I think with my hectic schedule of school, work and work outs, I’ll have less time to allow my mind to drift off to that happy place where the nicotine flows like honey!!

I’ve got stress balls to keep my hands busy, sugar free gum to help with the oral fixation, my herbal teas to help with the necessary flushing and a plan to rid my home of any and all reminders of tobacco. No ashtrays, no empty packs, no butts, no lighters, nada.

I also have spent a lot of time looking at what my triggers are. The biggest? Coffee!! There’s nothing more soothing to me in the morning than a hot mug of joe and a smoke.

So my old friend latte and I will be parting ways.

I don’t know how I’ll do. I may be a raging bitch for the 3-7 days that it takes to get this out of my system but I have to start somewhere!

I am well aware that my cravings will still rear their ugly heads even after the nicotine is out of my system. I’ll deal with the psychological aspect after I’ve dealt with the physical.

One mountain a day, my friends!!

11 thoughts on “Detox, baby!

  1. Good luck πŸ™‚ I also quit by going cold turkey. Drinking water helped a lot. Every time I had a craving I would have some water instead. If that failed then I would find something physical to do.
    Now that I’ve been off them for over six months if I get a craving on a night out or during stressful times I ask myself if I really want to start the battle again and is it really worth it. The answer is always no, it’s not worth it.

    Anyway, best of luck to you and believe in yourself. You can do this! πŸ™‚

  2. Good for you! I’ve been smoke-free for 2 years and 3 months. As with many other smokers, I tried to quit many times over serveral years. This last time, I tried yet a different tactic, I researched what kind of smoker I was and then I mentally prepared myself. Hope you path is a successful one! Cheers.

  3. Good luck. Fortunately, I never took up tobacco and I stopped smoking pot because of zero tolerance testing on my job.
    I’m currently reading Charles Duhigg’s book The Power of Habit, which you might like (in you copious free time). He talks a lot about changing habits in personal life and at work . It is an interesting read for anyone who has compulsions (in my case food/overeating).

  4. Doing a detox is great for the body and mind, I applaud you but you didn’t ween yourself off of nicotine the right way. You can’t switch from 4 X 4mg to 8 X 2mg because that is the same dose. When you take nicotine you are suppose to go in stages and slowly over the course of weeks you are suppose to lower your intake of nicotine so that you naturally lose cravings. It should really give these instructions on the box but I’m not sure which country or brand you are using but regardless I wish you all the best in your detox. I’m tempted to do one myself.

    • I actually did ween myself. Or tried to. The gum here comes in 4mg, 2 mg and 1 mg. I have been using them for about 3 months.
      I talked to my doctor about it and she is the one that prompted me to just quit nicotine all together.
      I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for reading!!

    • I realize that 4 pieces of 4 mg is the same as 8 pieces of 2 mg. that’s why I’m going to just quit. Weening isn’t working. I get cravings and that extra piece is sitting there so I pop it in my mouth.
      I’m taking an AA approach. Just one day at a time. But, getting the nicotine out of my system all together is the first step.

  5. Good luck! Congratulations on quitting smoking, that’s a huge accomplishment because it’s such a challenging process, but you did it! Hang on in there with your planned detox. The days will whizz by before you know it. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

