Ouch

“The pain you feel today is the strength you feel tomorrow!”

I’m not sure where I originally heard that saying but it’s always stuck out in my mind.

It’s in the same vein as old stand by’s such as “no pain, no gain”, “pain is temporary, pride is forever”.

They all resonate the same sentiment: working out is gonna hurt!

Before our trip to San Fransisco, I’d gotten lazy with regards to my workouts. Only doing the minimum amount of work each day.

My running had almost completely stopped and my daily ritual of abs and push ups slipped to a “when I remember” routine.

Since being back, I’m back on track. And let me tell you… I’m sore!

I don’t use weights very often but when I do it’s to help strengthen my knees. I tend to get too bulky from strength training so I stick to the muscle, strength and endurance workouts I learned in the Army.

This past weekend I’ve increased the intensity of my strength training. More push-ups, more leg lifts, more crunches, more squats.

My legs are feeling fine, which surprises me, but I’ve discovered my lower back and even my lats are screaming at me!

I’m pretty proud of myself. I’ve managed to get myself back to the level I was at when I left the Army. 30 push-ups, 50 sit-ups and 2 miles in less than 20 minutes.

It may not seem like much to a person who pushes themselves to an extreme every day, but considering that just 8 months ago I couldn’t squat down on a bridge deck without my inspector helping me get back up? It’s amazing!!

I’ve dropped over 30 lbs and plan to drop at least another 20. Or at least another 4″.

Julie commented on how small I’m getting and when she pulled out old pictures of the two of us from high school, I could easily see that I was a bit on the “pudgy” side compared to her toned physique.

I feel pretty good about my progress.

My former ethics professor, Warren, has recently started running again too. We’ve talked about how we plan to meet up twice a week to run together at the school. They have a terrific trail that goes around the campus which is adorned with gardens, fountains and other landscapes that make a daily jog worth the effort.

I’m enjoying my last week of “vacation”. Classes start back up Monday. My Chem class has been moved from 12:30 to 10:00 am which will cause some serious logistical issues regarding sleep, but as I told Warren, I’ll figure it out.

So far, I’m still on track. I’m in the honors program and have secured a few scholarships. I’ve been offered a position on a research team for the Texas Transportation Institute at A&M, which will help offset the tuition there AND give me the opportunity to be published (a noteworthy accomplishment in any field).

Julie has had 3 offers on the house and it’s not even on the market yet. Because of that, we are looking at a mid June move instead of July.

I head up to Illinois next weekend so we can both look at apartments and lofts.

All in all, life is on track.

As I look at our original time table, I feel like it’s all a million years away: Until I start living it. Then I wake up to discover that time has slipped by and I can’t recall ever experiencing it.

Today, I’m hopeful and optimistic. I’m sore but focused. I’m happy. Happy in a content sort of way that I haven’t been able to experience in a very long time!

2 thoughts on “Ouch

Leave a Reply

