It was a drinking thing.

This weekend I blew off steam. It probably wasn’t what I needed to do but I knew that waiting for Julie to go to the doctor tomorrow, studying wasn’t going to be an option.

My friend J Will flew into Austin and me, her, her sister, brother in law and J Will just hung out. I talked to my two J’s about my most important J (Julie) and sadly, neither one had much to say.

So, we drank. And talked, and walked and drank some more.

No, it wasn’t productive. No, I didn’t find peace or serenity. No, I didn’t forget that my girl is probably freaking out but is refusing to show it.

At first I felt like I was running away. I felt like I was supposed to climb on a plane and go right back to Illinois. Then I talked to Julie.

“Wait until we hear what the doctor says. Don’t do anything rash. If there’s something to worry about, then we’ll discuss you and “us” and if/when you move. By the way… I’m spending the weekend in Chicago with Dana and Debbie. We’re going to get shit faced drunk!”

So, while I felt that I wasn’t exactly where I should have been (geographically) I didn’t feel completely horrible.

I’ve spent every opportunity this weekend thinking, talking, texting or checking in with her.

We will get through this. Good or bad. Together.

One thought on “It was a drinking thing.

Leave a Reply

