That tug between school and love

So the end of the semester is fast approaching. Luckily, two of my classes are online and my algebra class is only once a week so I’m able to be here with Julie.

Initially, I had plans to enroll in a class for the three weeks between this semester and the first session of the summer. After much consideration, however, I think I’m going to take that three weeks and enjoy a partial break.

Work, school, Julie, life in general has all taken a toll on me. Physically and emotionally. Because of that, I need and want a break.

Being here has been great. Granted the circumstances for my visit were less than ideal but hey! When life gives you lemons, right?!

Sitting down and looking at our respective calendars we’ve decided that we want more than just a few days, sneaking off to steal a day or two together. We both want a vacation.

One that is long overdue for both of us.

A trip away to rest, relax and just forget any cares we may have.

I called my boss yesterday, and he agrees that I need a break. I wasn’t aware of it, but apparently, I’m the only person who hasn’t burnt up most of my PTO. I volunteer for nights, weekends and holidays, all in an effort to stay busy. Because of that, he has agreed to let me do a “comp” time deal.

For those who don’t know what this means… Anytime you work more than 40 hours in a week (or 80 in two depending on your companies policy) you are required by law to receive 1 1/2 times your regular compensation.

A lot of government agencies have found a way around actually paying you and some private companies are following suit. For every hour over 40, you are granted 1 1/2 hour of PTO to take at a later day.

When I worked for the State, I was on salary and comp time was the norm. In fact, when I resigned, I was able to continue getting a check for over a month after my last day because I had accumulated so much comp time. I’m used to this idea.

Quite frankly, I’d prefer to have time off with pay over a few extra bucks on my check, anyways. (I was surprised this last paycheck to discover I was given a substantial raise, so I’m financially comfortable with this idea)

So, when I get back, I’m going to start accumulating comp time.

What does this mean for me?

Well, if chosen, I can go to Central America. I can also stay here for a few days longer than I’d planned. AND (here’s the good one!) Julie and I can take a real, honest to goodness vacation.

We’ve decided on San Francisco. I’ve never been and she’s only been once. J Will lives there and has graciously offered us the use of her condo and car for our stay because she will be out of the country doing her own decompressing!

Our flights are booked! Our plans are made. Our vacation time is on the books!

Here’s to me getting to see some of the most amazing bridge structures in the U.S., to Julie getting to go back to Fisherman’s Wharf and to us drinking wine until our heads spin! And doing it together!!

Anyone have suggestions for our trip?? I’m all ears!!

Leave a Reply

