1 year

It’s another beautiful Sunday morning and I’m wondering what life holds for me and Jenny.

Today, we celebrate our 1 year anniversary.

In that year, we’ve been through a lot. The smiles and laughter that goes along with birthdays and holidays; the crying and angry words that coincide with arguments that later seem trivial; the heartache that accompanies the loss of family and friends; but through it all, love.

We’d met just over a year ago. At first we planned to just be friends. We’d meet for coffee to chat about kids, work, family, friends and church.

We’d text and call each other just to see how the others day was going, or to share some exciting or disturbing news.

As time went by, we realized that our friendship had become more and that there was, not only a physical attraction, but an emotional attachment that neither of us had felt in a very long time.

In this past year, I’ve lost my job, we bought a house, tried to raise our kids (sometimes with great frustration), met new friends, joined a church together, mourned the loss of my mother, welcomed our new grandson and lived life!

Today I’m thankful to God that he brought this woman in to my life! I didn’t realize I needed her then but know now, I can’t make it without her.

As I look forward at my life, I’m able to see her next to me. In every scenario that runs through my head, she’s by my side. And I have to say, I like that!

So, to the first woman, in a long time; and the last woman ever; Jenny, I’m grateful to call you mine!

Happy anniversary. I love and adore you. You have managed to complete a life that I thought was already full. For that, I will always cherish you!

20120805-085301.jpg

2 thoughts on “1 year

  1. I don’t have to tell you that you make a great couple, you know it! The fact that you know what you’ve got and appreciate it for the rare and special thing it is makes me believe you guys will last forever. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

