The Chick-Fil-A debate from a lesbo outsider

It appears I have managed to start a “shit storm” by posting my opinions of the whole Chick-Fil-A debate on my Facebook.

I am gay. I live, happily, with my partner and our 5 at home kids.

We have a home, bills, jobs (thankfully I can now say that), arguments, pets and all the other things that go along with having a family.

Regardless of what anyone else thinks, we are a family!

But, my opinion of Mr. Cathy and his restaurant is not what most would think it is.

I like Chick-Fil-A. Yes, you heard me right. I like Chick-Fil-A.

I’ve never been denied service, my food has been of the quality if expect from a fast food restaurant and I’ve never been made to feel uncomfortable while dining there.

People in the gay community are in an uproar because Mr. Cathy announced that yes, his company is run on biblical principals and in his opinion that means marriage consists of one man and one woman. (he actually said that a man married to his first wife. But you don’t hear polygamists in an uproar)

I heard a saying when I was in the Army that has since stuck with me.

“Freedom of speech was not given to you by a newspaper. Freedom of religion was not given to you by a priest. Freedom to assemble was not given to you by a protester. It was given to you by the same soldiers, who will die to protect your right to burn the very flag that will one day be draped across their casket.”

We all hear phrases thrown around like freedom of speech, freedom of the press, etc.

And yes, in the U.S.A. those are the very fundamental ideals that our country is based on.

So, is it any more important that a group of gay protesters be heard than a religious group?

Is it less valid when a priest speaks his thoughts than a drag queen?

These may seem like ridiculous questions but that’s how I feel the gay community is acting.

Would I want a straight couple to stand on my front lawn, kissing and fondling each other because I’m not heterosexual? No. But I wouldn’t want a gay couple doing it either.

Just as I wouldn’t want that straight couple there, their actions won’t make me change my mind.

I doubt that Chick-Fil-A will change their stance either.

We live in a world where people believe they have to be loud, militant types to have their side heard. The truth is, when you are behaving in the way that reinforces their belief that you are wrong, you only damage your own credibility.

We demand respect, but aren’t willing to give it. We demand equal rights, but protest when another exercises theirs.

How can we be taken seriously as a valid, productive group in society when the most visual are the ones that aren’t?

I told Jenny the other day, “I wave at the people who walk down our street, not because I know them. But because I’d rather be known as that friendly lesbian couple down the street, rather than those mean dykes.”

It’s all about perception. And the image you portray today is the one that will stick for many years to come.

Will I see equal rights for gays and lesbians in my lifetime? I don’t know.

What I do know is that until we stop acting as though we deserve special rights, we’ll never be treated equally.

4 thoughts on “The Chick-Fil-A debate from a lesbo outsider

  1. We don’t have chick-fil-a here in Canada, plus we’ve had gay marriage etc. here for years so this really isn’t my “debate” but I’ll wade in because hey, comments!
    I think that one of the reasons that people are upset with Mr. Cathy is that his company gives millions of dollars to groups such as the Family Research Council (? I think? I might have the name wrong) that lobby congress to not oppose laws in other countries (in this case, Uganda) that allow people to kill homosexuals.
    The guy coming out and saying “hey I don’t agree with gay marriage” was sort of the catalyst to people getting upset but I think when they looked further and did some research, it was the stuff like “hey let’s let the Ugandans kill all the gays they want” that has most people riled up.

    • I agree that the corporations choice of charities is the “meat” of this issue.
      What I’m riled up about is the way the gay community is behaving.
      Groups like The Black Panthers did little to nothing to help promote equality for African Americans. It was peaceful but passionate, educated people like Dr. King.
      Have we forgotten what our own history has taught us?
      For every step forward, things like this happen and we take two steps back.

  2. This is the most brilliant post on this topic I’ve seen. I just found your blog through Jenny, who all this time I thought was named Natalie. Duh. Anyway, you have such a fair voice, you look at things through all perspectives and logic which I LOVE. Now what’s a Texas Bridgefarmer?! 😀

    • I’m glad you enjoyed my rant.
      Her name is Natalie. She refuses to use my real name on her blog, so to be “snarky” I told her I’d call her Jenny.
      As for a “bridgefarmer”?
      Well, some folks get up, see a field of nothing and grow corn. I see a field of nothing and build a bridge. I grow(build) bridges. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

