Is it possible to be too domestic?

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, so I figured it was only appropriate to let everyone know I’m still alive and catch everyone up on the exciting world of domesticated me!

I’ve had a few interviews. I’m not sure if they’ll turn into anything worthwhile, but my most recent one was yesterday. It was for the County.

It’s an “entry level” position but I’m at the point where I’m about to go stir crazy.

I keep hearing the same thing. “you are very well qualified. But we can’t offer you the same salary you are used to and we are concerned you wouldn’t stay for long.” or, “you have several years of supervisory experience. Are you sure you’d be happy in a field position.”

I know I have a lot of competition for these positions. But I’m finding myself wondering why did I spend 20 years becoming the best in my field? It seems to be hurting me more than helping me right now.

I want to walk in and just announce, “exploit me! I’m ok with that, because I can only water my grass and vacuum the house so many more times before I snap!”

A note on the positive side, though. Jenny and I became members of our church this past Sunday. For some that may seem like a “so what” moment, but we took this very seriously. It’s a commitment. We are entering into a relationship with our church family. They now have expectations of us and we have a responsibility to fulfill those.

We have also finally put the finishing touches on our lawn. 700 bucks later and we have grass in our backyard. Yes, it’s the little things in life that mean the most to me right now.

I’ve been reading, applying for jobs, doing lawn work and other tasks around the house. All in an effort to stay busy until the right job comes along.

So far, money isn’t an issue of any serious concern. Now that won’t last forever. But, I’m hopeful that it will all work itself out sooner than later.

I’ve still got 3 positions that I’m hoping to hear back from. Out of those, I’m sure one will be the one!

Fingers crossed that something comes up soon. After all… I’d hate to snap because I’ve become too domesticated.

One thought on “Is it possible to be too domestic?

  1. I think the term to describe where you are headed is “Domestic Goddess!”

    Congratulations on joining your church and making a commitment to that family, I know it will be a great thing for both of you.

Leave a Reply

