How to survive the zombie apocalypse

Like a lot of people, I’ve found myself pondering how I’d ensure the survival of my family and self in the event of a “zombie apocalypse”.

Ok. Maybe there aren’t many people planning for the upcoming demise of humanity. But I have thought about it.

I’ve thought about the obvious. I’d need a generator, lots of fuel. Water, food and ammo. But that only takes care of the basics.

What about entertainment? You can only kill so many zombies before it becomes mundane.

So, I’ve compiled a list of DVD’s and books I’d want to have on hand. There isn’t any real order, they’re just ones that I like and could see myself watching or reading them over and over.

1. Second Hand Lions.
Movie has been around for a while but it always makes me smile. The notion of two old, cynical uncles having their hearts touched by a young boy is timeless.

20120329-134042.jpg

2. Anything written by Frank McCourt.
His literary career was cut short but he did publish several books about his life in Limerick Ireland and his move to the U.S. He also published a few children’s books before his death.

20120329-134343.jpg

3. Death Be Not Proud.
It’s a simple but sentimental book. About a young man who is stricken by cancer at the prime of his life in his brain. The part of him that could have given him an amazing life.

20120329-134659.jpg

4. Rocky Horror Picture Show
Oh come on. Everyone has that cheesy show that they know all the words to and Tim Curry is amazingly funny as the crossdressing host to this motley crüe.

20120329-135039.jpg

5. Any Tess Gerritsen book that I can get my hands on. I read everything written by her and was amazed to turn the TV on one day and hear the names, Rizzoli and Isles. I’d fallen in love with Maura Isles long before the tv show was made. And in all honesty, I’ve never seen a single episode.

20120329-135417.jpg

6. The Holy Bible.
I really don’t think this needs an explanation. After all, I’m sure any of us survivors will need a certain amount of spiritual guidance.

I love to read. I love good movies and this list isn’t even close to the items I’d want to have with me. But it’s a start.

What movie or book would you want to have in order to ensure you maintain a bit of humanity?

Leave a Reply

