I’m no butcher!

Today I am processing chickens. Yes, you heard me right. I have to kill them, pluck them, gut them and then clean and vacuum seal them.

I’ve never done this before, so about 2 weeks ago I started reading blogs about it and watching videos. They all say the same thing. “it’s easy!

They are lying bastards, my friends.

First off, let me say that I do not take the idea of killing anything that is not suffering, lightly.

I have 23 to process. 5 are supposed to go to a buyer that bought them at the livestock show and the others belong to us.

The first step, obviously, is to kill the chicken. Holding them upside down and slitting their throat is the preferred method. It not only speeds the death of the chicken, it helps drain the blood out faster.

This is a gruesome task.

I decided to start with 3. They are ones that belong to us so as I’m learning, I’m not damaging the buyers meat.

I get the three home after the unpleasant task of killing them and then begin the “scalding”. You want to soak them in hot water (not boiling. I learned this the hard way) to help loosen the feathers.

Yes, the feathers come off fairly easy while doing this but it is tedious and time consuming.

Then you proceed to open the bird up and remove all the organs.

Again, every video, article and blog said this was easy. Again, they lied!

Chickens breathe like we do. So they have a diaphragm. That is a bitch to get through to clean the bird out. and don’t even get me started on the lungs!!

After you have “gutted” the bird you then cut off the head and feet. Again, not pleasant.

I am not surprised, but I have managed to ruin 2 of the birds. I feel very disappointed because I took these chickens lives and all I did was learn what not to do.

I’m waiting for Louie to get home. I’m hoping that with some help, and the mistakes I now know not to make, I’ll get the rest of them right.

Btw. For those wondering, yes, I did pray before, during and after I did all this. We all need a little guidance once in a while.

7 thoughts on “I’m no butcher!

    • I’m sorry for the death and destruction too! I actually decided that I was going to load the rest up and take them to a processor. It’ll be a long drive but I’d rather do that and know it’s done quickly.
      I may seem like a sissy, buy I’m comfortable knowing that if a zombie apocalypse comes, I can do it if I have to! Right now, I don’t have too!

  1. I still can’t believe that, as a tiny child, I used to watch our farmer relatives slaughter both cows and chickens – well, that’s where our food came from. I can still remember every step of the process, young as I was. We thought it was fun back then – ugh!!

    • My grandfather would do all these thing too. But for him it was what had to be done.
      Luckily, I am able to take them somewhere to be processed (we’ve even come up with a more civilized saying to describe it lol) so I don’t have to do this myself.
      I said to my daughter last night; “we are raising these animals to be food. The least we can do is give them a happy and comfortable life until then.”

Leave a Reply

