Is this the one?

I have an interview this morning. It’s at a subsea fabrication shop. They build oil equipment for submerged and deep water oil extraction.

Do I know anything about this? No. But apparently my rep at TWC felt that I met the minimum qualifications and the director of HR referred to my resume as “impressive and confident”.

That made me feel like I was being a bit arrogant. But should I feel that way? A resume isn’t a poem or short story. It’s simply a document where you have to highlight you knowledge, skills and ability.

Yes, I’ve won awards and been published. Why wouldn’t I share that information with prospective employers? I’m good at what I do and I’m willing to work hard to be the best. As a supervisor, I wanted to know these things.

Well, about 2 hours after receiving my resume, they called me to schedule an interview.

I have a degree in engineering. Civil, but it does fall into the “engineering” category. I’ve worked with mechanical engineers who were tasked with designing concrete. So I suppose it’s not a huge stretch. We do math. We read blueprints, schematics and plans. I guess the “fine print” isn’t as important.

Jenny isn’t so sure about this job, and neither am I. I’m still getting a paycheck from my last employer so it’s not as though I have to take any job right now. But, I feel like I’m not being productive.

It’s that damned work ethic again. I’ve been out of work for 3 weeks. I am keeping myself busy trying to oversee the chores around the house like laundry, cleaning, shopping and managing the kids needs. I have kept up my crazy schedule of taking care of the pigs and chickens, so my days are pretty full.

Am I trying to talk myself out of this job? Maybe. I keep wondering if this is a place I could be happy.

It’s only 15 minutes from where we live now, and I’ve done my research and it seems like a reputable company. Basically, I’m going in to this interview with the attitude that if God has decided that this is where I should be, it’ll fall in to place.

Please, don’t get me wrong. I am extremely grateful to have this opportunity. An interview is the first step.

I may be getting all worked up over nothing. They may spend 10 minutes talking to me and decide I’m not even close to being a good match for their company.

I guess the fact that I still haven’t heard anything (anything) from the other job I applied for has me a little twisted up inside.

That job description read as though they’d cc’d my resume. And I didn’t hear a word back. So maybe my concerns are more fear of further rejection?

Well, whatever the case, it’s all in God’s hands. I’ll go in there, show them what I’ve got. Be honest about what I don’t know and see where I end up at the end of the day.

Fingers crossed. I’ll keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “Is this the one?

    • It actually went very well. I was honest about what my limitations are and they appreciated it.
      As we were wrapping up the interview, the owner said that he would be comfortable offering me the position if they can come to an agreement on salary.
      I was told they’d call me back before the end of the week.
      I actually found all three of the people I interviewed with to be honest, down to earth and open. It was a refreshing change from my last job.

Leave a Reply

